• Login
Q. What is the payment for the Specialist Qualification Allowance

The amount of €3835 is payable to registered nurses employed on duties in specialist areas appropriate to the following qualifications where they hold the relevant qualification:

Accident & Emergency Nursing Course

Anaesthetic Nursing Course

Behaviour Modification Course

Behavioural Therapy Course, Burns Nursing Course

Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing Course

Coronary Care Course, Diabetic Nursing Course

Ear Nose & Throat Nursing Course

Forensic Psychiatric Nursing Course

Gerentological Nursing Course

Higher Dip. in Midwifery, Higher Dip. in Paediatrics

Infection Control Nursing Course

Intensive Care Nursing Course (incl. Paediatric Intensive Care and Special and Intensive Care of New Born)

        Neurological/Neurosurgical Nursing Course

Operating Theatre Nursing Course (incl. Paediatric Op. Theatre)

Ophthalmic Nursing Course, Orthopaedic Nursing Course

Higher Diploma in Cardiovascular Nursing/Diabetes Nursing/Oncological

Nursing/Palliative Care Nursing/Accident and Emergency Nursing, Rehabilitation Nursing Course,

Renal Nursing Course, Stoma Care Nursing Course.

This list is not exhaustive – payment of the specialist qualification allowance extends to all specialist courses confirmed as Category II or equivalent by the Nursing & Midwifery Board of Ireland.

The specialist qualification allowance is payable to registered general nurses holding recognised post registration qualifications in midwifery or sick children’s nursing and employed on duties appropriate to their qualification.


Site Map
Irish Nurses & Midwives Organisation (Cumann Altrai agus Ban Cabhrach na hEireann). The Whitworth Building, North Brunswick Street, Dublin 7. T:+353 1 664 0600 E:inmo@inmo.ie